top of page

The Promises of the Sacred Heart

The devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus Christ is one of the most enduring and significant devotions in Catholicism. It is based on the belief that the heart of Jesus is a symbol of his boundless and unconditional love for humanity. This devotion sees the heart of Jesus as the ultimate source of comfort, hope, and healing. Many Catholics believe that by contemplating the Sacred Heart, they can draw closer to Jesus and experience his compassionate and merciful nature. The Sacred Heart is often depicted in art as a heart encircled by thorns and surmounted by a cross, symbolizing the suffering and sacrifice of Jesus on the cross. Throughout history, many religious institutions, orders, and organizations have been founded with the express purpose of promoting the devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus Christ.

The Devotion to the Sacred Heart is based on the promises that Jesus Christ revealed to the French Roman Catholic nun, Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque during the 17th century. These promises are a source of great comfort and hope for those who follow this devotion. During her life, Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque, received numerous visions and apparitions from Jesus, who revealed to her His desire for devotion to His Sacred Heart. Her life and teachings have had a significant impact on the Catholic Church, particularly in regards to the devotion to the Sacred Heart. She was canonized as a saint in 1920 and her feast day is celebrated on October 16th. Saint Margaret Mary continues to inspire Catholics around the world to deepen their devotion to Christ and His Sacred Heart.

The Twelve Promises of the Sacred Heart are twelve blessings that Jesus Christ promised to those who have a strong devotion to His Sacred Heart. These promises were revealed to St. Margaret Mary Alacoque, a French Roman Catholic nun and mystic, in the late 17th century during her visions of Jesus. The twelve promises are:

1. I will give them all the graces necessary for their state of life.

2. I will establish peace in their homes.

3. I will comfort them in their afflictions.

4. I will be their secure refuge during life, and above all in death.

5. I will bestow abundant blessings upon all their undertakings.

6. Sinners shall find in my Heart the source and infinite ocean of mercy.

7. Tepid souls shall become fervent.

8. Fervent souls shall speedily rise to great perfection.

9. I will bless those places wherein the image of my Sacred Heart shall be exposed and venerated.

10. I will give to priests the power of touching the most hardened hearts.

11. Persons who propagate this devotion shall have their names written in my Heart, never to be effaced.

12. The all-powerful love of my Heart will grant to all those who shall receive Communion on the First Friday of nine consecutive months the grace of final repentance; they shall not die under my displeasure, nor without receiving the sacraments; my Heart shall be their assured refuge at that last hour.

These promises are a testament to Jesus Christ's infinite love and mercy for humanity, and serve as a reminder to those who believe in Him to place their trust in His Sacred Heart.

In conclusion, the promises of the Sacred Heart are a powerful reminder of the love and grace that Jesus Christ offers to all who seek him. These promises offer hope and comfort to those who are struggling, and they remind us of the incredible power of devotion to the Sacred Heart. As we reflect on these promises, may we be strengthened and encouraged to embrace this beautiful devotion with renewed enthusiasm.


"Devotion to the Sacred Heart." Sisters of Mount Carmel. Accessed June 1, 2023.

"The 12 Promises of the Sacred Heart of Jesus." Catholic Company. Accessed June 1, 2023.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page