top of page

Explore Chakra Balancing

Updated: Apr 5

The chakras are the energetic body’s spiritual centers, which are said to govern different aspects of life. Dating back to ancient Hindu spiritual texts, the chakras are said to make up an entire energetic body that circles the spine, with seven primary points around the body. As energy flows through these points, being balanced and harmonized helps to promote good mental, physical, and spiritual wellbeing.

When energy is blocked, hindered, or out of balance, it can manifest in physical and mental manifestations in the body and can really feel like a block to growth. By understanding your chakras, opening and balancing them, it is possible to gain insight into your life and health problems, making changes for physical and mental wellbeing, and ultimately gain spiritual balance.

The seven chakras are lowest to highest: root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye, and crown. Each chakra corresponds to a different part of the body and governs different aspects of your life. When a chakra is out of balance, you may experience physical, emotional, and mental issues in areas related to that chakra.

The root chakra is located at the base of your spine and is commonly depicted as a red lotus flower with four petals. This chakra is connected to your connection to the physical and material world, and governs elements of your life like physical security, your instinctual basic needs and motivations, and how you interact with the world. When the root chakra is balanced, you’ll find yourself feeling safe, secure, and connected. When it is stressed, you may find yourself feeling ungrounded and anxious, struggling with feelings of stability and safety in your life.

The sacral chakra, located just below the navel and depicted as an orange lotus flower with six petals, governs your emotional awareness and expression, sexuality, and creativity. Having a balanced sacral chakra leads to emotional balance, and a feeling of being able to welcome in pleasure and joy. Imbalances in this chakra can manifest in emotional chaos, depression, anxiety, and difficulties in the intimate relationships.

The solar plexus chakra is located above the navel and is depicted as a yellow lotus flower with ten petals. This chakra governs your personal power, your confidence, and your sense of self-worth, as well as being responsible for how you procreative with life. When the solar plexus chakra is balanced, you will find that you are able to take charge of your life and have a healthy ego. When the chakra is stressed, you may feel a sense of powerlessness, feel ‘stuck’, and have difficulty holding yourself in the highest regard.

The heart chakra, located in the chest and depicted as a green lotus flower with twelve petals, is the center of love, compassion, and connection. When balanced, you will feel a sense of peace and contentment, able to practice self-compassion and open heartedly love others. When the chakra is stressed, you may struggle to feel connected, experience difficulty being vulnerable, or find yourself unable to give and receive love.

The throat chakra, located at the base of the neck and depicted as a blue lotus flower with sixteen petals, helps to govern our communication, speaking our truth, and how we express ourselves. A balanced throat chakra can help you to express yourself in a truthful, honest and heart-centered way, as well as providing you with the strength to listen to yourself. Imbalances in this chakra can manifest in issues with communication, self-expression, and difficulty feeling heard.

The third eye chakra, located between the eyebrows and depicted as an indigo lotus flower with ninety-six petals, governs intuition, wisdom, and insight. When the third eye chakra is balanced it is possible to access a greater understanding of the world, be aware of your gut feelings, and able to make better decisions. Unbalances in this chakra can manifest in confusion, difficulty trusting yourself, and feeling like you’re unable to make decisions.

The crown chakra, located at the top of the head and depicted as a violet lotus flower with hundreds of petals, governs our connection to the divine and our spiritual understanding. When balanced, this chakra can help you to access inner wisdom, trust in life, and spiritual acceptance. Blockages in this chakra can lead to feeling disconnected, a sense of being ‘lost’, or difficulty accessing higher-level knowledge.

Our energetic body’s chakras are powerful resources to help support a physical, emotional, and spiritual balanced life. By understanding, opening, and balancing the seven chakras, we can gain insights into our life and health problems, create long-term physical and mental wellbeing, and promote true spiritual balance.

Louisa Mastromarino, CEO of Holistic Consortium, is a certified counselor educator, certified psychic/medium, and certified intuitive consultant. She is also a clinical hypnotherapist with over twenty years of experience in the communications and education fields.  Louisa has been featured in Careers from the Kitchen Table by Raven Blair Davis and is the author of Spifford Max and the Cycle Pups Go to Washington, D.C., Spifford Max and the Cycle Pups Go to Philadelphia, PA, Spifford Max and the Cycle Pups Go to New York City, and Brizzley Bear Loves Poetry . Visit or email for more information or to arrange a private distant consultation. Thank you. 

Disclaimer: Holistic programs are not meant to treat, diagnose, or cure any condition. Mediumship and ADC programs are for entertainment purposes only and should not be used to replace licensed medical or psychological counseling or therapy.  All persons should seek licensed professional support for any treatment, diagnosis or cure for any ailment, bereavement or loss.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page